Cat Deeley“So You Think You Can Dance” Season 5 started last night.  Unfortunately, my TiVo betrayed me and recorded “Wipeout” instead of SYTYCD, but I found this great website that lets you watch the whole episode, so now I’m caught up.  And TiVo promised never to cross me again.

Of course the dancers and choreographers were great, but the true star of this show for me is the host, Cat Deeley.  She’s the female Ryan Seacrest, beautiful, stylish and responsible for telling America which phone numbers to call to vote for their favorite contestants.  The difference between the two, however, is Deeley is never afraid to make a fool of herself.

She has tried to dance with the poppers and lockers, celebrated with the victorious but even more importantly, comforted the defeated.  She is genuinely happy and excited when dancers do well and continue on to the next show, but she has cried with those eliminated.  She isn’t afraid to be real.  I love Seacrest as much as the next girl, but he’s always one step back from being on the same level as the contestants.  Deeley is a dancer’s best friend.

Favorite Cat Deeley Moments:

 – She put Twitch’s fake teeth in her mouth, slobber and all.

 – When Twitch was eliminated, he was heartbroken.  So was she.  When he collapsed into a ball, she got on his level, hugged him and didn’t worry about moving the show along.  She comforted him as a person, not just as a host.

 – Anytime she says, “Tabithar & Napoleon” (because she’s British, her a’s are ar’s)

There are many more, but I can’t think of them.

My favorite dancers last night were:

Philip & Janine

Evan & Brandi

Tony & Paris

Jason & Cailtin

Brandon & Janette

I’m so glad this show is back (and will be back again in the fall!)

